Making Democracy Work

LWV of the Jackson Area Calendar

Learn about opportunities to participate in activities

Date & Time        Place        Description
Saturday, August 27, 2016
10 am
Municipal Art Gallery
839 N. State Street
Jackson, MS 39202
Membership Solicitation Brunch. Topic: Ethics & Government
Thursday, October 27, 2016
6-7:30pm
Eudora Welty Library Election Commissioners' Forum.
Tuesday, November 8, 2016
7 am - 7 pm
Polling places General Election.
Saturday, November 19, 2016
10 am
Willie Morris Library
4912 Old Canton Road
Jackson, MS 39211
Election Analysis. Membership Meeting
Saturday, January 28, 2017
10:30 am
Willie Morris Library
4912 Old Canton Road
Jackson, MS 39211
Legislative Issues. LWVJA Lobby Corps director Fran Leber will address current bills. *** NOTE TIME CHANGE ***
Tuesday, February 7, 2017
 
  Board Meeting.
Thursday, February 9, 2017
10:15 am - 2 pm
756 N. Congress Street
Jackson
Legislative Day. Gather 7565 N. Congress Street (house on east side, just south of school) to discuss bills and have lunch. Meet with Legislators at the Capitol. You may want to call your legislator to schedule a meeting at 1 pm or later. RSVP to Fran Leber franleber10@gmail.com
March 2017
 
TBA Candidate Forum's for Municipal Elections.
Saturday, April 22, 2017
10 am
Fondren Presbyterian Church, Jackson LWVJA Annual Meeting. Brunch ($10) Business Meeting Speaker: Flonzie Brown Wright The Civil Rights Movement in Contemporary Times

http://mshumanities.org/presentation/the-mississippi-civil-rights-movement-in-contemporary-times/

Tuesday, May 2, 2017
7 am - 7 pm
Polling Places MUNICIPAL PRIMARY ELECTION DAY.
Saturday, May 20, 2017
10 am
Anjou Restaurant Ridgeland LWVMS - Annual State Convention. Speaker: Alysia Burton Steele
Tuesday, June 6, 2017
7 am - 7 pm
  MUNICIPAL GENERAL ELECTION DAY.