Making Democracy Work

Mississippi Gulf Coast League of Women Voters

The Mississippi Gulf Coast League is an active and growing Local League including the counties of Hancock, Harrison, and Jackson. The Mississippi Gulf Coast League meets to listen to speakers from the community, to study local issues, to develop policy positions, to advocate for League positions, and to conduct voter service projects. Check out our Calendar for upcoming meetings and events.


Tuesday April 25, 2017 + 6:00-8:00 p.m.

Mary C. O'Keefe Cultural Center For The Arts & Education 1000 Government Street Ocean Springs, Mississippi

Sponsored by The League of Women Voters Mississippi Gulf Coast And The Mary C. O'Keefe Cultural Center

MGCLWV Programs

Our past events have focused on the following issues:
2011: Transparency in Government
2010: Environmental concerns of the Richton Salt Domes
2012, 2016: Making Democracy Work


7th Annual "Making Democracy Work" Luncheon Thursday, March 23, 2017, 12:00 Noon, the IP Casino Resort Spa in Biloxi.

Guest Speaker, State and National Civil Rights Champion The Honorable Constance Slaughter-Harvey, will bring her personal story and perspective on how to "Make Democracy Work." Ms. Slaughter-Harvey broke a number of barriers including being the first female African American to graduate from the University of Mississippi Law School and the first female African American to be appointed as a Judge in Mississippi.

We expect an enthusiastic turn out and suggest ordering tickets early. Also, please forward the invitation to others you believe would like to attend.

Tickets should be ordered by Monday March 20th. They are $30 per person and may be picked up at the door if paid for in advance by:

Using Pay Pal


Sending a check payable to LWVMGC directly to:

Christopher Friedley, Treasurer
3612 Point Clear Drive
Ocean Springs MS 39564

We look forward to seeing you.

Roberta Avila, President
228 229-8552

P.S. You may call Karlyn Stephens at 228-282-3263 (C) or 228-818-9062 (H) for more information.

MGCLWV Officers

Roberta Avila, President

Paige Roberts, First Vice President/Programs

Christopher Friedley, Treasurer
(228) 229-4817

Christy Wheeler 2nd Vice President for Voter Services
Phone: 228-497-0341

Aletha Burge, Secretary

Nancy Wilson, Board Member at Large

Shirley Phipps, Board Member at Large
(228) 875-7270

Karlyn Stephens, Board Member at Large